Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
  •  
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
About Us
 

The American Embassy will observe the following United States (US) and Trinidad & Tobago (TT) holidays in 2012



Date
       



Day
       



Public Holiday



Country

Jan  1 Sun New Year's Day US & TT
Jan 16 Mon Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday    US
Feb 20 Mon Presidents' Day    US
Mar 30 Fri Spiritual Baptist (Shouter) Liberation
Day
   TT
Apr  6 Fri Good Friday    TT
Apr  9 Mon Easter Monday    TT
May 28 Mon Memorial Day    US
May 30 Wed Indian Arrival Day    TT
Jun 7 Thurs Corpus Christi    TT
Jun 19 Tue Labour Day    TT
July  4 Wed Independence Day    US
Aug  1 Wed Emancipation Day    TT
TBA TBA Eid-ul-Fitr    TT
Aug 31 Fri Independence Day    TT
Sep  3 Mon Labor Day    US
Sep 24 Mon Republic Day    TT
Oct 8 Mon Columbus Day    US
TBA TBA Divali    TT
Nov 12 Mon Veterans' Day    US
Nov 22 Thurs Thanksgiving Day    US
Dec 25 Tue Christmas Day US & TT
Dec 26 Wed Boxing Day    TT


Carnival will be celebrated on Monday, Februry 20 and Tuesday, February 21. These dates are not considered official public holidays; however, the Embassy will be closed on these two days.

The Muslim festival of Eid-ul-Fitr and the Hindu festival of Divali are religious public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. Where the public holiday is a religious observance, the date is selected in accordance with the particular religious calendar. The actual dates for 2011 will be announced closer to that time.

In Trinidad and Tobago, when a public holiday falls on a Sunday, or where two public holidays fall on the same day, the following day that is not a public holiday shall be declared a public holiday.

U.S. Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes, when a holiday falls on a non-workday - Saturday or Sunday - the holiday is usually observed on the Friday before (if the holiday falls on Saturday), or on the following Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday).