Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
  •  
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
2016 Public Holidays
 

The American Embassy will observe the following United States (US) and Trinidad & Tobago (TT) holidays in 2016



Date
       



Day
       



Public Holiday



Country

January  1 Friday New Year's Day US & TT
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday    US
February 15 Monday Presidents' Day    US
March 25 Friday Good Friday     TT
March 28 Monday Easter Monday    TT
March 30 Wednesday Spiritual Baptist Liberation Shouter Day    TT
May 26 Thursday Corpus Christi    TT
May 30 Monday Memorial Day    US
May 30 Monday Indian Arrival Day    TT
June 19 Sunday Labour Day (holiday Monday, June 20)    TT
July 4 Monday Independence Day    US
July 7 Thursday Eid-ul-Fitr (TBC)*    TT
August 1 Monday Emancipation Day    TT
August 31 Wednesday Independence Day    TT
September 5 Monday Labor Day     US
September 24 Saturday Republic Day    TT
October 10 Monday Columbus Day    US
October 30 Sunday Divali (TBC)*    TT
November 11 Friday Veterans' Day    US
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day    US
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day (holiday Monday, December 26)  US & TT
December 26 Monday Boxing Day (holiday Tuesday, December 27)     TT


Carnival will be celebrated on Monday, February 8 and Tuesday, February 9, 2016. These dates are not considered official public holidays; however, the Embassy will be closed on these two days.

The Muslim festival of Eid-ul-Fitr and the Hindu festival of Divali are religious public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. Where the public holiday is a religious observance, the date is selected in accordance with the particular religious calendar. The actual dates for 2016 will be announced closer to that time.

In Trinidad and Tobago, when a public holiday falls on a Sunday, or where two public holidays fall on the same day, the following day that is not a public holiday shall be declared a public holiday.

U.S. Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes, when a holiday falls on a non-workday - Saturday or Sunday - the holiday is usually observed on the Friday before (if the holiday falls on Saturday), or on the following Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday).