Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
2015 Public Holidays

The American Embassy will observe the following United States (US) and Trinidad & Tobago (TT) holidays in 2015



Public Holiday


January  1 Thursday New Year's Day US & TT
January 19 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday    US
February 16 Monday Presidents' Day    US
March 30 Monday Spiritual Baptist Liberation Shouter Day     TT
April 3 Friday Good Friday    TT
April 6 Monday Easter Monday    TT
May 25 Monday Memorial Day    US
May 30 Saturday Indian Arrival Day    TT
June 4 Thursday Corpus Christi    TT
June 19 Friday Labour Day    TT
July  4 Saturday Independence Day (Embassy closed on Friday July 3)    US
July 18 Saturday Eid-ul-Fitr (TBC)*    TT
August 1 Saturday Emancipation Day    TT
August 31 Monday Independence Day     TT
September 7 Monday Labor Day    US
September 24 Thursday Republic Day    TT
October 12 Monday Columbus Day    US
November 11 Wednesday Divali (TBC)*    TT
November 11 Wednesday Veterans' Day    US
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day    US
December 25 Friday Christmas Day US & TT
December 26 Saturday Boxing Day    TT

Carnival will be celebrated on Monday, February 16 and Tuesday, February 17, 2015. These dates are not considered official public holidays; however, the Embassy will be closed on these two days.

The Muslim festival of Eid-ul-Fitr and the Hindu festival of Divali are religious public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. Where the public holiday is a religious observance, the date is selected in accordance with the particular religious calendar. The actual dates for 2015 will be announced closer to that time.

In Trinidad and Tobago, when a public holiday falls on a Sunday, or where two public holidays fall on the same day, the following day that is not a public holiday shall be declared a public holiday.

U.S. Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes, when a holiday falls on a non-workday - Saturday or Sunday - the holiday is usually observed on the Friday before (if the holiday falls on Saturday), or on the following Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday).