Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
  •  
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
2014 Public Holidays
 

The American Embassy will observe the following United States (US) and Trinidad & Tobago (TT) holidays in 2014



Date
       



Day
       



Public Holiday



Country

January  1 Wednesday New Year's Day US & TT
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday    US
February 17 Monday Presidents' Day    US
March 30 Sunday Spiritual Baptist Liberation Shouter Day (to be observed March 31)    TT
April 18 Friday Good Friday    TT
April 21 Monday Easter Monday    TT
May 26 Monday Memorial Day    US
May 30 Friday Indian Arrival Day    TT
June 19 Thursday Labour Day    TT
June 19 Thursday Corpus Christi (to be observed June 20)    TT
July  4 Friday Independence Day    US
July 28 Monday Eid-ul-Fitr (TBC)*    TT
August 1 Friday Emancipation Day    TT
August 31 Sunday Independence Day (to be observed September 1)    TT
September 1 Monday Labor Day    US
September 24 Wednesday Republic Day    TT
October 13 Monday Columbus Day    US
October 23 Thursday Divali (TBC)*    TT
November 11 Tuesday Veterans' Day    US
November 27 Thursday Thanksgiving Day    US
December 25 Thursday Christmas Day US & TT
December 26 Friday Boxing Day    TT


Carnival will be celebrated on Monday, March 3 and Tuesday, March 4, 2014. These dates are not considered official public holidays; however, the Embassy will be closed on these two days.

The Muslim festival of Eid-ul-Fitr and the Hindu festival of Divali are religious public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. Where the public holiday is a religious observance, the date is selected in accordance with the particular religious calendar. The actual dates for 2014 will be announced closer to that time.

In Trinidad and Tobago, when a public holiday falls on a Sunday, or where two public holidays fall on the same day, the following day that is not a public holiday shall be declared a public holiday.

U.S. Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes, when a holiday falls on a non-workday - Saturday or Sunday - the holiday is usually observed on the Friday before (if the holiday falls on Saturday), or on the following Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday).