Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Consular Section Closures

Public Holidays and Consular Section Closures 2011

The U.S. Embassy in Port of Spain's Consular Section is closed on weekends, on the following United States (US) and Trinidad & Tobago (TT) holidays in 2011 and on the last Wednesday of every month.  

When the embassy is closed, American citizens should call 622-6371 in the event of an emergency. 



Public Holiday


Jan 1 Sat New Year's Day US & TT
Jan 17 Mon Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday US
Feb 21 Mon Presidents' Day US
Mar 30 Wed

Spiritual Baptist (Shouter) Liberation Day

Apr 22 Fri

Good Friday

Apr 25 Mon

Easter Monday

May 30 Mon Indian Arrival Day TT
May 30 Mon Memorial Day US
Jun 19 Sun Labor Day TT
Jun 23 Thur Corpus Christi TT
Jul 4 Mon Independence Day US
Aug 1 Mon Emancipation Day TT
Aug 31 Wed Independence Day TT
Sep 5 Mon Labor Day US
Sep 24 Sat Republic Day TT
Oct 10 Mon Columbus Day US
Nov 11 Fri Veterans' Day US
Nov 24 Thurs Thanksgiving Day US
Dec 25 Sun Christmas Day US & TT
Dec 26 Mon Boxing Day TT

Carnival will be celebrated on Monday, March 7 and Tuesday, March 8. These dates are not considered official public holidays; however, the Embassy will be closed on these two days.

The Muslim festival of Eid-ul-Fitr and the Hindu festival of Divali are religious public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. Where the public holiday is a religious observance, the date is selected in accordance with the particular religious calendar. The actual dates for 2011 will be announced closer to that time but are tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, August 30 and Wednesday, October 26 respectively.

Local law establishes , when a public holiday falls on a Sunday, or where two public holidays fall on the same day, the following day that is not a public holiday shall be declared a public holiday.

U.S. Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes, when a holiday falls on a nonworkday -- Saturday or Sunday -- the holiday usually is observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday).